Call Detail

2016 American Art Today: What is American Art?
Hayden Phelps (Attn: American Art Today)
The Bascom Center for the Visual Arts
323 Franklin Road
Highlands, NC 28741

Event Dates: 10/1/16 - 12/11/16
Entry Deadline: 7/31/16
Application Closed


Images - Minimum: 1, Maximum: 2
Total Media - Minimum: 1, Maximum: 2

Entry Fee (Bascom Center for the Visual Arts): $35.00

The 16th Annual Juried Exhibition, American Art Today, is a prestigious exhibition that features 2D and 3D works of approximately 30 artists from across the nation.

Awards: $5,500 will be awarded at the discretion of the Juror. Best of Show-$1,600; 1st -$1,200; 2nd -$1,000; 3rd -$900; 4th -$800.

Juror: This year’s subject, “What is American Art?” will be answered by the juror Dr. William U. Eiland, Director of the Georgia Museum of Art, through the selected works. During his career, he has received several fellowships and distinguished service awards. He serves on several boards including the American Association of Museums. Eiland is the author of The Truth in Things: The Life and Career of Lamar Dodd.

Eiland has been the recipient of a Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship, a Danforth Teaching Fellowship at the University of Virginia, a research fellowship from the University of Georgia’s Willson Center for The Humanities and Arts, and a Museum Professionals Grant from the National Endowment for the Arts. He has edited and contributed to more than 60 publications. He has served on the boards of the American Association of Museums, the Southeastern Museums Conference and the Georgia Association of Museums and Galleries; and was a trustee of the Association of Art Museum Directors. Since 2013, he has been a trustee of the International Council of Museums. Among his many honors, Eiland most recently received the American Alliance of Museums Distinguished Service Award, in recognition of his contributions to the field on a national level.
Dr. Eiland received his BA with honors from Birmingham-Southern College; his MA and PhD degrees from the University of Virginia.